Donor Inspiration & Anticipation

Most spam or newsletters sit in my email box for many weeks before I actually look at them or delete them. But I always look forward to the newsletter updates I get from The National Marrow Donor Program (BeTheMatch.org) and I read them right away. They revive my inspiration and mojo. In the midst of a stressful work week, dirty house chaos and parent-teacher conferences, it reminds me what a great feeling it was to have been a donor and that I did something in this life that made a difference in someone else’s. This article/letter in particular really touched me:
http://www.bethematchblog.org/2012/09/you-made-a-choice-that-many-people-dont-make-parents-personal-thank-you-to-donor/

I still have seven months left before my recipient and I can request each other’s contact information. I can currently send a card or something to the family through the NMDP but it cannot have any identifying information what so ever in it and so I haven’t done this yet. I’ve thought about it many times, but it feels like a hard line to walk and I haven’t been sure what yet to say or do. But, I can tell you, it drives me nuts not to be able to know how my recipient is doing. Last update I had gotten about two months after the procedure was that the procedure was a success and she was doing well. That was such a huge relief. But it’s so hard to just let it go at that and not think about her and her family.

“Is she completely cured? In what ways does she feel different or better than before?”

“Is she back at school? Is she able to do things she couldn’t do before?”

“Did she get any of my allergies through my blood?”

“Has she had any setbacks?”

“What are her hobbies?”

But life goes on, and hopefully her life goes on now as well, and I will just have to wait until after May 8, 2013 to see what happens.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Wade
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 08:01:15

    Also a friend of Jordan’s FAmily….also a son that has FA, and will be transplanting soon…thank you for the wonderful gift that you have given to her & her FAmily! I thank you!

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 19:48:58

    As a friend of Jordan’s family, and someone with a son who also has FA, I just want to thank you for what you did. Don’t let anyone ever tell you you’re not Wonder Woman! Thank you! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Under the Guise of Glitter

The manic ramblings of a borderline narcissist

wehaveapples

DIFFERENT NOT BROKEN

A (Hard) Working Mum

To successfully juggle a career and children is almost like juggling swords... On fire... With one hand tied behind your back.

Bless this mess

Rants and messy thoughts of a 20something woman

Moths to a Flame

A collection of mis-adventures

TheFurFiles

the Raynor family unleashed...

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

part of the Plan

I have no idea how to be a grown-up.

In-House Counsel

The trials and joys of life with boys

Sun and Clear Pebbles

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?

A Life Among The Pages

the home of poet and booklover Robert Zimmermann

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

One Odd Duck

I may walk and quack a little differently, but I'm still a duck...

Sincerely, Slapdash

Random thoughts from the heart

Mittens and Boots

Covering the Extremities

KatyGirl'sWorld

Random rants and thoughts on books, shows, and life.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

I Am Not Defined

Life would be boring if we were all sheep. We need some Zebra's in the herd.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

