It’s A Match

It has been awhile since I blogged and there is actually something really important going on in my life right now so I better start documenting it. What’s up you say? Well… I have been registered in the National Bone Marrow Donor Program for fifteen years. (Seriously, how am I old enough to have done anything for 15 years? Arrg) Anyway, last week I got a call from them. I am a match. I am like the winning lottery numbers for some family out there who has been struggling with a sick child for thirteen years. It is a miraculous thing to find a match outside the family. And I am so very honored to hopefully be a part of saving a life. As a parent, there is no worse thought than losing a child. I am very lucky to have healthy children. But it doesn’t stop me from the ‘what if worries’ now and then. So, I am pleased to participate and sure hope it goes well and is the cure they need.

Isn’t it crazy amazing even to think that something inside my body could possibly cure someone else’s illness? And it may not be a complete cure, but when I looked up this particular disease – Fanconi Anemia – it pretty much said hematopoietic stem cell transplantation is the answer, if everything goes as well as intended. The patient can still be susceptible to developing other cancers later, but it sounds pretty hopeful. Fanconi Anemia is a rare blood disorder that leads to bone marrow failure, which leads to a failed immune system, which leads to Leukemia, which you know that is not good. This disease can also affect other organs such as the kidneys, and put them at higher risk for tumors. Average life expectancy is between 20-30 years old. I don’t like when children are given life expectancies. Every year at the Cystic Fibrosis fund raiser dinner I attend, when they give the update on the new average life expectancy, I instantly cry. Cry at how stifling that ceiling would feel to the family and the child. And also cry tears of happiness because it continues to go up each year through research and new treatments. But I digress…back to this situation… which will also be part of their ongoing research study of this procedure as well as for the Fanconi Anemia recipient studies.

So, I have had the informational session. I have read through all the paperwork and signed about a gazillion consent forms. I have gone through the physical exam, blood work, EKG, and other medical testing. I believe I have been cleared by the doctor here, but am waiting for the patient’s doctors to make the decision on if I am healthy enough, perfect enough fit to not be too risky for the patient. Then I’ll just be waiting on the official date scheduling, which has already moved once. And if I am confirmed, then I will be in San Francisco in a month getting shots and doing the PBSC procedure. My mommy will be with me (hey everyone wants their mommy when they are sick or injured, it’s just natural). I will take my laptop for writing, some books for reading, and probably Season 1 Game of Thrones that I’ve been trying to find time to watch. And I won’t have to clean or cook or practice spelling words for five days, so it won’t be all that bad.

I’ve gotten great response from friends and coworkers so far. They’ve all been very encouraging, proud, and said it’s a wonderful thing I am doing. My husband is worried about the Filgrastim shots creating some kind of long-term side effect in my body and possibly increasing my own chances of cancer in the future. I am not so worried about it. My oldest son said he wants to come with me so he doesn’t have to do homework with Daddy. And my youngest son cried and told me not to go. But I discussed the whole situation with my boys and told them what this could mean for that little girl and that family and then they understood. Luckily my boys are so smart and when I explain things to them they become very compassionate. I’ve been trying to raise them to be very socially aware & responsible and charitable, so this is a great opportunity for me to set a good example of being giving of ourselves.
So wish me luck.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sally
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 21:27:30

    You are an amazing woman and I feel that God gave you to me to be my “Guide” and inspiration You are doing a great job of raising your boys, (and your Mom)
    tee hee…….

    Reply

  2. Mary Eilleen Cleary
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 15:27:28

    My 10-year-old daughter has FA and was blessed enough to have a sister who was a match. You are a wonderful blessing to this family. My daughter will have her 3rd anniversary of the transplant this summer and you would never know she’d been through it by looking at her! She’s been afforded many years of a “normal” childhood because of the BMT. God bless you and all others who go through with the donation.

    Reply

    • katygirlsworld
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 18:48:11

      I am so happy to hear that. I hope my situation goes as well for this family too. Thank you for your kind words. Because of this experience a couple of my friends have also decided to sign up on the BeTheMatch registry so hopefully we can all make a difference someday.

      Reply

  3. Charlie Scott
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 08:19:57

    As a grandparent of an FA child and also very long-time on the Bone Marrow Registry, I just want to say how lucky you are and how fortunate the recipient is! My granddaughter received her match from Germany a little over a year ago and everything has gone perfectly so, we too, have been blessed!
    Thanks to you and your family for being so giving.

    Reply

  4. sugarylollipops
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 22:50:43

    Wow, this is so inspiring. You are doing something amazing and so worthwhile! I really hope everything works. Good luck!
    Love and Lollipops to you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Under the Guise of Glitter

The manic ramblings of a borderline narcissist

wehaveapples

DIFFERENT NOT BROKEN

A (Hard) Working Mum

To successfully juggle a career and children is almost like juggling swords... On fire... With one hand tied behind your back.

Bless this mess

Rants and messy thoughts of a 20something woman

Moths to a Flame

A collection of mis-adventures

TheFurFiles

the Raynor family unleashed...

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

part of the Plan

I have no idea how to be a grown-up.

In-House Counsel

The trials and joys of life with boys

Sun and Clear Pebbles

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?

A Life Among The Pages

the home of poet and booklover Robert Zimmermann

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

One Odd Duck

I may walk and quack a little differently, but I'm still a duck...

Sincerely, Slapdash

Random thoughts from the heart

Mittens and Boots

Covering the Extremities

KatyGirl'sWorld

Pouring my heart out about life, health, books, shows, and random stuff.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

I Am Not Defined

Life would be boring if we were all sheep. We need some Zebra's in the herd.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

